Property Taxes


2023 Municipal Property Tax Rates 

During their regular meeting on May 9, 2023, Council adopted the 2023 Tax Rate Bylaw 1147/23 reflecting a 3% municipal tax rate increase for farm and residential classes of assessed property, and a 3.5% rate increase to non-residential assessed property.

2023 Combined Assessment and Tax Notices will be mailed on May 19, 2023. All taxes are due upon receipt of tax notices, and penalties will apply if not paid before 4:30 pm on September 15, 2023. The next penalty dates are December 15, 2023 and April 19, 2024. Clearwater County also offers a Tax Instalment Payment Plan (TIPP) allowing taxpayers to pay property taxes on a monthly basis. This bylaw, for the second time, has a penalty date noted in April of the year following the levy. This was to encourage payment of unpaid taxes before the first penalty date in September.

Any ratepayer who does not receive a tax notice by the end of June is advised to contact the County Office at 403-845-4444. 

The Tax Notice is a combined Assessment and Tax Notice. Persons wishing to appeal their assessment have 67 days from the notice of assessment date to do so. Clearwater County will accept appeals until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, July 28, 2023 (excluding linear and DIP properties).

Non-Residential (includes M&E)
Small Business

Change of Address Form

Need to update your records with a change of address? Please complete the Change of Address Form and return it to

Payment Options

Need to pay your property tax bill?  Clearwater County offers several payment options:

PaySimply: PaySimply is a convenient way to pay through a third party using your credit card. Processing fees apply. Please allow 3 business days for processing. For more information:

Online Banking: Make payments online through your financial institution. Fees may apply. 

Electronic Funds Transfer: Payments can be made online with your financial institution using your financial software. Please contact us for more details and allow 2 to 3 business days for processing.

By mail: Cheques can be sent by mail to
Clearwater County
PO Box 550, 4340 – 47 Avenue

Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A4

In-Person: You may also come in person during regular office hours (Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm) to pay by cash, cheque or debit (post-dated cheques are welcome). Reminder: if cheques are returned by the bank, taxes are considered unpaid.

Drop box: A drop box is located at the main Clearwater County office at 4340 – 47 Avenue, Rocky Mountain House.

*Please note that Clearwater County offers a Tax Installment Payment Plan (TIPP) allowing taxpayers to pay property taxes on a monthly basis, for more information please visit the Tax Installment Payment Plan webpage (click here).

How do property taxes work?

Property taxes are the primary means by which Canadian municipalities, and Clearwater County, in particular, pay for the building and maintenance of roads and bridges; controlling agricultural pests and weeds; the provision of fire, ambulance and emergency services; seniors lodging; waste management; water and sewer services; recreation facilities, parks and campgrounds; and countless other services provided on behalf of citizens. It should be noted that about half of the property taxes levied in Clearwater County are mandated and levied on behalf of the Alberta Government to fund local schools and schools in other parts of the province.

Clearwater County's assessors work diligently to value property as fairly as possible in relation to similar property and provincial regulations and guidelines.
Property taxes are a way of fairly distributing the cost of providing local government services among ratepayers and businesses that use them. Property tax is calculated and billed annually using the property's assessed value, as found on your property assessment notice, and the Council-approved property tax rate for your class of property in the appropriate region. Check the Property Tax Calculator to estimate breakdown of your property taxes.

Property Assessment Value ($)      x     Tax Rate (Class of Property)    =    Property Tax
The property tax system has two parts:
  • Assessing the value of your property. (Completed by Clearwater County’s Assessment Department)
  • Setting the annual tax rate.  (Set annually by Council based upon the County’s budget as developed by the County’s Finance Department)
The Government of Alberta determines the criteria under which property assessment takes place. The criteria are dependent upon the type of property being assessed.

The municipal tax rate is set by Clearwater County Council annually. The overall tax rate is comprised of four different tax rates:
  • Municipal Tax: Set by Clearwater County Council, and is the only revenue generated by the municipality
  • School Tax: The provincial government establishes the Educational Tax Rate, where Clearwater County is required to collect the Education/School taxes on behalf of Alberta Education, but had no jurisdiction in setting this Tax Rate)
  • Seniors Foundation: Seniors tax is collected on behalf of Westview Lodge in Rocky Mountain House and the requisitioned amount is shared between Clearwater County, the Town of Rocky Mountain House and the Village of Caroline)
  • Uncollectible School: This is the amount of tax dollars that were not collected the previous year, but paid to Alberta Education