Boards & Committees

Each year, Clearwater County Council appoints elected officials and citizens to over 40 boards and committees. These boards and committees are established by Council through bylaws and may be delegated certain duties such as providing advice to Council on a range of municipal issues that help shape our community. The boards and committees are diverse, independent and impartial. They are made up of dedicated volunteers from across the County with varied skills, backgrounds and experience. Serving on a board or committee is an excellent opportunity to share your skills and experience and to give back to your community.

Current Vacancy Positions

Board/Committee# of VacanciesTermEffective
Agriculture Services Board
2 members4-YearNov 1, 2022
Caroline Municipal Library
1 member3-YearNov 1, 2022
Central Alberta Economic Partnership (CAEP)
1 member1-YearNov 1, 2022
Clearwater Regional Family and Community Support Services
1 member
3-YearJan 1, 2023
Clear Water Landcare Board (appointed by Clearwater County Agriculture Services Board)1 member (Acreage resident)
3-YearJan 1, 2023

1 member (Student)

1- Year
Jan 1, 2023
Clearwater Heritage Advisory Board
1 member2-YearJan 1, 2023
1 alternate member2-YearJan 1, 2023
Municipal Planning Commission (MPC)
2 members1-YearNov 1, 2022
Rocky Clearwater Health Professional Engagement Team
1 member2-Year
Nov 1, 2022
1 member3-Year* (inaugural appointment)
Nov 1, 2022 
Rocky and District Recreation, Parks and Community Service Board

1 member

2-Year**(to fill vacant position)Immediately
Rocky Mountain House Library Board
1 member
1-Year** (to fill vacant position)
1 member3-YearJan 1, 2023
Rocky Senior Housing Council1 member2-YearNov 1, 2022
Subdivision Development Appeal Board (SDAB)
1 alternate member3-YearNov 1, 2022
 * Inaugural appointment that will revert to a two-year term.

** Term period is an exception for this year due to vacancies due to resignation.

Click here for a downable version of the list of current vacancies. 

How to apply: Applications will be received for the above positions from County residents at the County office until Friday, October 7, 2022 at 4:30 p.m. Click here for the application form, which can be summitted using the following methods: 

Clearwater County, Box 550, Rocky Mountain House, AB, T4T 1B4
Tracy Haight

List of Committees

Each year, Council holds an Organizational meeting in October to designate their memberships on boards as well as to elect members-at-large to represent the community on select boards. Last year the Organizational meeting took place on Monday October 25, 2022.
The current list of committees which members of Council participate includes:
  • Agricultural Services Board
  • Bighorn Backcountry Standing Committee
  • Caroline and District Recreation and Agricultural Society
  • Caroline Municipal Library Board
  • Central Alberta Economic Partnership (CAEP) Alliance 
  • Clearwater Community Police Advisory Committee 
  • Clearwater County Heritage Grant Advisory Committee
  • Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Clearwater Regional Family and Community Support Services Board
  • Community Futures - Central Alberta
  • David Thompson Recreation Board
  • Intermunicipal Cooperation (Collaboration) Committee
  • Intermunicipal Development Plan Committee – Village of Caroline
  • Intermunicipal Development Plan Committee – Rocky Mountain house
  • Intermunicipal Development Plan Committee – Wetaskiwin County No. 10
  • Municipal Planning Commission (MPC)
  • Nordegg Community Association
  • North Saskatchewan River Watershed Alliance (NSWA) Board of Directors and Headwaters Partnership Steering Committee
  • Parkland Regional Library Board
  • Pest and Weed Control Appeal Board
  • Rocky Community Learning Council (RCLC) Board of Directors
  • Rocky Mountain House Airport (CYRM) Commission
  • Rocky Mountain House and District Recreation, Parks and Community Services Board
  • Rocky Mountain House/Clearwater County Health Professionals Engagement Team
  • Rocky Mountain House Municipal Library Board 
  • Rocky Mountain House Museum Operations Board
  • Rocky Senior Housing Council
  • School Resource Officer (SRO) Committee
  • Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB)
  • Sundre RCMP Community Advisory Committee
  • West Central Stakeholders Group

These boards and committees have varying commitments and meeting frequencies, with some meeting annually, some monthly and others meeting as required.