Forest Protection Area

Forest Protection Areas (FPA) refer to the creation of provincial parks and other areas to legally protect them from industrial activity and to help preserve healthy ecosystems.
Alberta Agriculture and Forestry is the wildfire authority (under the Forest and Prairie Protection Act) in the FPA of Alberta and control all aspects of wildfire management, including fire bans. Alberta Agriculture and Forestry manages and responds to all wildfires in this area and is responsible for issuing permits and putting on fire bans.

Even if they are within the FPA, any city, town, village or summer village has the authority to put on their own fire bans as they are outside Alberta Agriculture and Forestry’s jurisdiction.

Where is the FPA?
Click here for the Government of Alberta's map outlining the Forest Protection Area in the province.
Click here for a map of the Forest Protection Area in Clearwater County.